1965- A Good Year for Music

First of all 1965 was a great year because I was born that year, and I thought I would do a review of some of the things that made it special starting with music.

Number 1 hit of 1965 was Wooly Bully by  Sam the Sham and the Pharaohs. It was the first American song to sell a million copies during the ‘British Invasion’ era. It reached No. 2 on the American Hot 100 chart in June, stayed in the Hot 100 for 18 weeks, was nominated for a Grammy Award, and was named Billboard’s ‘Number One Record of the Year’ even though it never reached No. 1 on the weekly charts. It was kept from No. 1 by ‘Help me Rhonda’ by the Beach Boys and ‘Back in My Arms Again’ by the Supremes.

Number 2 was ‘I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch) by the Four Tops. Hit number one on the Billboard Hot 100 for 2 weeks in June. It was vying for top spot with ‘Mr. Tambourine Man’ by the The Byrds and ‘(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction by the Rolling Stones.

Number 3 ‘I can’t get no Satisfaction’ by the Stones. In 1965 these guys looked really young.

Leave a Reply

