I am Canadian – Alberta Bound

“Alberta Bound”

Alberta Foothills
Alberta Foothills
Oh the prairie lights are burnin’ bright
The Chinook wind is a-movin’ in
Tomorrow night I’ll be Alberta bound
Though I’ve done the best I could
My old luck ain’t been so good and
Tomorrow night I’ll be Alberta bound
No one-eyed man could e’er forget
The Rocky Mountain sunset
It’s a pleasure just to be Alberta bound
I long to see my next of kin
To know what kind of shape they’re in
Tomorrow night I’ll be Alberta bound
Alberta bound, Alberta bound
It’s good to be Alberta bound
Alberta bound, Alberta bound
It’s good to be Alberta bound
Oh the skyline of Toronto
Is somethin’ you’ll get onto
But they say you’ve got to live there for a while
And if you got the money
You can get yourself a honey
A written guarantee ta make you smile
But it’s snowin’ in the city
And the streets and brown and gritty
And I know there’s pretty girls all over town
But they never seem ta find me
And the one I left behind me
Is the reason that I’ll be Alberta bound

Alberta bound, Alberta bound
It’s good to be Alberta bound
Alberta bound, Alberta bound
It’s good to be Alberta bound
It’s good to be Alberta bound

by Gordon Lightfoot

 

10020-153 St, Edmonton, Alberta - 1945, the house my grandfather built
10020-153 St, Edmonton, Alberta – 1945, the house my grandfather built

 

1937 the jobs had dried up in Saskatchewan, so my grandparents, along with a few friends, packed up and moved to Edmonton, Alberta. The men got jobs right away and so they embarked on the next chapter of their lives. They looked with fondness back on those years in Edmonton. No one had much money and the neighbours all helped each other and got together for fun times. There was a great camaraderie going through the depression together. Gramps worked at Aircraft Repair during the war.

Historic Pictures of Edmonton

 

 

Edmonton is a big city now.

Night Skyline of Edmonton from photos.edmonton.ca
Night Skyline of Edmonton from photos.edmonton.ca
5 thoughts on “I am Canadian – Alberta Bound

    1. Thanks Pierre. I’m running out of steam a bit. I want to shift gears to more present day stuff. Probably do some posts on B.C. next. We’ll see what the muse brings out;-)

Leave a Reply

