PART 14

The history of rock and roll from an eye/ear witness of the 50s!

Gold Must be Tried by Fire

Music came to me at an early age. I could not play an instrument, but I could hear the chord changes which my dad performed on the accordion. He and his sister Myrtle both had lessons to grade twelve on the piano, and they could sight-read music with no problem.  My dad, however, preferred to play by ear and he was good enough to have played on Lawrence Welk. I think. I have his accordion and I remember him playing by the campfire when we miraculously made it one more time over to Christina Lake or Deer Park. Lying in the tent, I could hear them singing:

“Oh we ain’t got a barrel of money,

maybe we’re ragged and funny.

But we travel along, singin’ a song

Side by side.

Through all kinds of weather,

what if the sky should fall.

Just as long as we’re together,

it doesn’t matter…

View original post 1,047 more words

Leave a Reply

