PART 20

Gold Must be Tried by Fire – Part 20
The heartache of a broken family.

Gold Must be Tried by Fire

INTO THE FIRE: 1958-1970

VANCOUVER: bewildered student. 1958

I was still clueless, but eventually it dawned on me that Ernest McQuary was now going to be my father. He moved us all into the Sunset Auto Court located approximately near the corner of the Grandview Highway and Boundary Road, right on the border of Vancouver and Burnaby. Across the expanse of the big city, a sea of houses, I could see the Roller Coaster at Playland on Hastings Street.  Those first few weeks are just a blur to me now. I was so confused and lonely. I don’t know why, but both Sherry and I were given the strap by Ernest. We did something wrong, I guess, I really can’t remember what it was. Sherry was furious.

“He has no right to hit us!  He is not our dad.”

“Yes, he does, I answered.  He does have the right.”

I…

View original post 589 more words

Leave a Reply

