Soul Food Sunday – The Battle Between Us

From John Eldredge in the book Desire p. 24

I haven’t been the friendliest driver lately. Oh, I’m fine- until I’m provoked. When people cut me off, I’m furious. Just the other day, a car began to get on the highway as I was passing by. The fellow ignored all the rules of merging and cut in front of me as I was doing full speed. I hit my brakes to avoid him and honked my horn. He looked back, snarled, and yelled something unprintable. That did it. Only the fear of higher insurance premiums kept me from running him off the road. But oh, how i wanted to. Of course, this never happens to you. You are kind and benevolent when someone cuts you off. Why, you’re practically happy when he steals your parking place, darts in right ahead of you. You smile and offer a blessing.

What is causing the quarrels and fights among you? Isn’t it the whole army of evil desires at war within you? You want what you don’t have, so you scheme and kill to get it. You are jealous for what others have, and you can’t possess it, so you fight and quarrel to take it away from them.  (James 4:1-2 NLT)

Leave a Reply

